Publications

Les publications qui suivent sont des exemples de recherches rendues possibles grâce aux données de CanPath et de ses cohortes régionales.

2021

Common variants in the CD36 gene are associated with dietary fat intake, high-fat food consumption and serum triglycerides in a cohort of Quebec adults

Auteurs : Tongzhu Meng, Stan Kubow, Daiva E. Nielsen

Cette étude a révélé que les variantes du gène CD36 sont associées à la consommation habituelle de graisses, ce qui pourrait jouer un rôle dans les liens subséquents avec des biomarqueurs de maladies chroniques. Les liens diffèrent selon le niveau de l’IMC et le type de graisse alimentaire.

Lire la publication
2021

Predictors of long-term use of prescription opioids in the community-dwelling population of adults without a cancer diagnosis: a retrospective cohort study

Auteurs : Audrey Béliveau, Anne-Marie Castilloux, Cara Tannenbaum, Philippe Vincent, Cristiano Soares de Moura, Sasha Bernatsky, Yola Moride

Cette étude visait à identifier les facteurs de risque et les prédicteurs de l’utilisation à long terme d’opioïdes sur ordonnance au sein de la population d’adultes sans diagnostic de cancer qui vivent dans la collectivité, afin d’éclairer les changements de pratique au point de traitement. L’étude a révélé que la limitation de l’approvisionnement initial à un maximum de 7 jours et la limitation des doses à 90 MME/jour ou moins sont des mesures qui pourraient être prises au point de traitement pour éviter l’utilisation des opioïdes à long terme.

Lire la publication
2021

Investigating the causal role of MRE11A p.E506* in breast and ovarian cancer

Auteurs : Islam Elkholi, Massimo Di Iorio, Somayyeh Fahiminiya, Suzanna Arcand, HyeRim Han, Clara Nogué, Supriya Behl, Nancy Hamel, Sylvie Giroux, Manon de Ladurantaye, Olga Aleynikova, Walter Gotlieb, Jean-François Côté, François Rousseau, Patricia Tonin, Diane Provencher, Anne-Marie MesMasson, Mohammad Akbari, Barbara Rivera, William Foulkes

Cette étude a examiné si le gène MRE11A comporte une véritable prédisposition au cancer héréditaire du sein et de l’ovaire (CHSO). Les analyses ont montré que la variante identifiée n’est pas liée à un risque accru de cancer du sein ou de l’ovaire, et semblent indiquer un manque d’utilité clinique des tests de MRE11A dans le CHSO, du moins dans les populations blanches/caucasiennes.

Lire la publication
2021

Associations between cognitive function, metabolic factors and depression: A prospective study in Quebec, Canada

Auteurs : Floriana Ferri, Sonya Dechenes, Niamh Power, Norbert Schmitz

L’étude a utilisé des données de base et de suivi de CARTaGENE pour évaluer les interactions possibles entre une fonction cognitive faible, les facteurs de risque métaboliques et les antécédents de dépression comme facteurs de risque de futurs épisodes de dépression. Les participants présentant une comorbidité pour au moins un facteur métabolique, des antécédents de dépression et une fonction cognitive faible ont montré le plus grand risque de connaître un épisode dépressif à un âge moyen.

Lire la publication
2021

Agreement in the CARTaGENE cohort between self-reported medication use and claim data

Auteurs : Cristiano Moura, Yves Payette, Catherine Boileau, Michal Abrahamowicz, Louise Pilote, Sasha Bernatsky

L’équipe de recherche a étudié la concordance entre l’utilisation autodéclarée de médicaments dans les données de base de CARTaGENE et les dossiers d’assurance maladie de la province. Dans l’ensemble on a observé une concordance raisonnable entre les deux sources de données, mais des variations importantes ont été constatées pour les différentes classes de médicaments.

Lire la publication
2020

Prediction of Cardiovascular Events by Type I Central Systolic Blood Pressure

Auteurs : Florence Lamarche, Mohsen Agharazii, François Madore, Rémi Goupil

Cette étude a évalué laquelle de la pression artérielle centrale ou brachiale prédit le mieux le risque cardiovasculaire, et a identifié le seuil central de PAS associé à un risque accru d’événements cardiovasculaires futurs. On a conclu que la PA centrale mesurée avec un dispositif de type I est statistiquement, mais probablement non cliniquement, supérieure à la PA brachiale dans une population générale sans maladie cardiovasculaire préalable.

Lire la publication
2020

Job strain and the incidence of heart diseases: A prospective community study in Quebec, Canada

Auteurs : Niamh Power, Soyna Deschenes, Floriana Ferri, Norbert Schmitz

Des données de l’enquête CARTaGENE couplées aux données administratives et des modèles de régression de Cox ont été utilisés pour examiner le lien entre le stress au travail et les maladies cardiaques, en neutralisant les effets des caractéristiques sociodémographiques, des facteurs comportementaux et cliniques et des symptômes de dépression. On a constaté que le stress au travail était associé à un risque accru de maladie cardiaque chez les femmes d’âge moyen et chez les hommes de 50 ans ou plus. Ce lien n’était pas expliqué par des symptômes dépressifs ou des facteurs sociodémographiques, cliniques et comportementaux.

Lire la publication
2020

Diabetes, Brain Infarcts, Cognition and Small Vessels in the Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts and Minds Study

Auteurs : Hertzel Gerstein, Eric Smith, Chinthanie Ramasundarahettige, Dipika Desai, Philip Awadalla, Philippe Broet, Sandra Black, Trevor Dummer, Jason Hicks, Alan Moody, Jean-Claude Tardif, Koon Teo, Jennifer Vena, Salim Yusuf, Douglas Lee, Matthias Friedrich, Sonia Anand

L’étude CAHHM a examiné des imageries par résonance magnétique (IRM) cérébrales et carotidiennes et les résultats de deux tests cognitifs (DSST et MoCA) dans un échantillon transversal de 7 733 hommes et femmes. Il en ressorti que la maladie des petits vaisseaux caractérise une grande partie de la relation entre le diabète et les lésions vasculaires cérébrales. Cependant, des facteurs supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour départager la relation entre le diabète et les troubles cognitifs.

Lire la publication
2020

Diet Quality and Food Prices Modify Associations between Genetic Susceptibility to Obesity and Adiposity Outcomes

Auteurs : Hannah Yang Han, Catherine Paquet, Laurette Dubé, Daiva E Nielsen

Cette enquête transversale a couplé géo-temporellement des données de CARTaGENE avec des données sur l’environnement dans les commerces de détail de produits alimentaires pour examiner les interactions entre le score de risque polygénique (SRP) pour l’obésité et (1) la qualité du régime alimentaire (n = 6807) et (2) les mesures en magasin chez des détaillants de produits alimentaires (n = 3718). Les résultats comprenaient des mesures liées à l’adiposité et la qualité du régime alimentaire évaluées à l’aide de l’Indice de saine alimentation de 2010 adapté au Canada.

Lire la publication
2020

Sunlight exposure, sun‐protective behaviour, and anti‐citrullinated protein antibody positivity: A general population‐based study in Quebec, Canada

Auteurs : Naizhou Zhao, Audrey Smargiassi, Ines Colmegna, Marie Hudson, Marvin Fritzer, Sasha Bernatsky

Cette étude a examiné les liens entre l’exposition au soleil et les anticorps anti-protéines citrullinées (ACPA) en utilisant des données générales sur la population au Québec. L’équipe de recherche a étudié 7600 personnes et n’a pas trouvé de liens concluants, mais des relations positives robustes ont été observées entre les émissions industrielles de PM2,5 et l’ACPA.

Lire la publication

Publications

These publications are examples of research made possible with data from CanPath and its regional cohorts.

2021

Common variants in the CD36 gene are associated with dietary fat intake, high-fat food consumption and serum triglycerides in a cohort of Quebec adults

Authors: Tongzhu Meng, Stan Kubow, Daiva E. Nielsen

This study found that CD36 variants are associated with habitual fat consumption, which may play a role in subsequent associations with chronic-disease biomarkers. Associations differ by BMI status and dietary fat type.

Read Publication
2021

Predictors of long-term use of prescription opioids in the community-dwelling population of adults without a cancer diagnosis: a retrospective cohort study

Authors: Audrey Béliveau, Anne-Marie Castilloux, Cara Tannenbaum, Philippe Vincent, Cristiano Soares de Moura, Sasha Bernatsky, Yola Moride

This study aimed to identify risk factors for and predictors of long-term use of prescription opioids in the community-dwelling population of adults without a diagnosis of cancer, to inform practice change at the point of care. It was found that limiting the initial supply to no more than 7 days and limiting doses to 90 MME/day or less are actions that could be undertaken at the point of care to prevent long-term use.

Read Publication
2021

Investigating the causal role of MRE11A p.E506* in breast and ovarian cancer

Authors: Islam Elkholi, Massimo Di Iorio, Somayyeh Fahiminiya, Suzanna Arcand, HyeRim Han, Clara Nogué, Supriya Behl, Nancy Hamel, Sylvie Giroux, Manon de Ladurantaye, Olga Aleynikova, Walter Gotlieb, Jean-François Côté, François Rousseau, Patricia Tonin, Diane Provencher, Anne-Marie MesMasson, Mohammad Akbari, Barbara Rivera, William Foulkes

This study investigated if MRE11A is a true predisposition gene for hereditary breast and ovarian cancer. Investigations suggested that the identified variant is not associated with an increased risk of developing breast or ovarian cancer, and suggests a lack of clinical utility of MRE11A testing in HBOC, at least in the White/Caucasian populations.

Read Publication
2021

Associations between cognitive function, metabolic factors and depression: A prospective study in Quebec, Canada

Authors: Floriana Ferri, Sonya Dechenes, Niamh Power, Norbert Schmitz

The study used baseline and follow-up CARTaGENE data to assess the potential interactions between low cognitive function, metabolic risk factors and history of depression as risk factors for future depressive episodes. Participants with a comorbidity of at least one metabolic factor, history of depression and low cognitive function were found to have the highest risk of experiencing a depressive episode in middle age.

Read Publication
2021

Agreement in the CARTaGENE cohort between self-reported medication use and claim data

Authors: Cristiano Moura, Yves Payette, Catherine Boileau, Michal Abrahamowicz, Louise Pilote, Sasha Bernatsky

The research team investigated the agreement of self-reported medication use in CARTaGENE baseline data with provincial health insurance records. Overall, there was a reasonable agreement between the two data sources, but important variations were found for the different drug classes.

Read Publication
2020

Prediction of Cardiovascular Events by Type I Central Systolic Blood Pressure

Authors: Florence Lamarche, Mohsen Agharazii, François Madore, Rémi Goupil

This study assessed which of central or brachial blood pressure best predicts cardiovascular risk and identified the central SBP threshold associated with increased risk of future cardiovascular events. It was concluded that central BP measured with a type I device is statistically but likely not clinically superior to brachial BP in a general population without prior cardiovascular disease.

Read Publication
2020

Job strain and the incidence of heart diseases: A prospective community study in Quebec, Canada

Authors: Niamh Power, Soyna Deschenes, Floriana Ferri, Norbert Schmitz

CARTaGENE survey data linked with administrative data and Cox regression models were used to examine the association between job strain and heart disease, adjusting for sociodemographic characteristics, behavioral and clinical factors, and depressive symptoms. It was found that job strain was associated with an increased risk of heart disease in middle-aged women and in men aged 50 years and older. This association was not accounted for by depressive symptoms or sociodemographic, clinical, and behavioral factors.

Read Publication
2020

Diabetes, Brain Infarcts, Cognition and Small Vessels in the Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts and Minds Study

Authors: Hertzel Gerstein, Eric Smith, Chinthanie Ramasundarahettige, Dipika Desai, Philip Awadalla, Philippe Broet, Sandra Black, Trevor Dummer, Jason Hicks, Alan Moody, Jean-Claude Tardif, Koon Teo, Jennifer Vena, Salim Yusuf, Douglas Lee, Matthias Friedrich, Sonia Anand

The CAHHM study collected brain and carotid magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and two cognitive tests (DSST and MoCA) in a cross-sectional sample of 7,733 men and women. It was concluded that small vessel disease characterizes much of the relationship between diabetes and vascular brain injury. However, additional factors are required to disentangle the relationship between diabetes and cognitive impairment.

Read Publication
2020

Diet Quality and Food Prices Modify Associations between Genetic Susceptibility to Obesity and Adiposity Outcomes

Authors: Hannah Yang Han, Catherine Paquet, Laurette Dubé, Daiva E Nielsen

This cross-sectional investigation geo-temporally linked CARTaGENE data with in-store retail food environment data to examine interactions between a polygenic risk score (PRS) for obesity and (1) diet quality (n = 6807) and (2) in-store retail food measures (n = 3718). The outcomes included adiposity-related measures and diet quality assessed using the 2010 Canadian-adapted Healthy Eating Index.

Read Publication
2020

Sunlight exposure, sun‐protective behaviour, and anti‐citrullinated protein antibody positivity: A general population‐based study in Quebec, Canada

Authors: Naizhou Zhao, Audrey Smargiassi, Ines Colmegna, Marie Hudson, Marvin Fritzer, Sasha Bernatsky

This study examined associations between sunlight exposure and anti-citrullinated protein antibodies (ACPA) using general population data in Quebec. The research team studied 7600 people and did not find conclusive associations, but robust positive relationships were observed between industrial PM2.5 emissions and ACPA.

Read Publication